Internationale Martin Luther Stiftung

The daily Luther

3rd December

But know that the LORD hath set apart him that is godly for himself.

Interpretation of Martin Luther ...

Members of the Board of Trustees

in alphabetical order

Nicola Beer (Brussels): Vice President and Member of the European Parliament, also Deputy Federal Chairwoman of the Free Democrats. She was a member of the German Bundestag from 2017 to 2019 and Secretary General of the Free Democratic Party from 2013 to 2017. During her affiliation with the Hessian state government, she served as State Secretary for Cultural Affairs in Europe from 2009-2012 and as Minister of Culture in Hesse from 2012-2014. After her second state law examination in 1999, Nicola Beer worked as an independent lawyer.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Uwe Bicker (Bensheim): scientist, dean of the Medical Faculty Mannheim of the University of Heidelberg, member of the Conseil d´Administration of Sanofi SA, Paris, in the Aventis Foundation and chairman of the board of trustees at Marburg University

Regional Bishop Tobias Bilz (Dresden) Theologian and since March 2020 Regional Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saxony (EvLKS). From 1991 to 2007, he served as pastor of the Erlbach-Kirchberg parish near Stollberg in the Ore Mountains and also as youth pastor in the Stollberg church district since 2001. From 2007 to 2018, Tobias Bilz was the full-time regional youth pastor of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saxony. After that, he was head of the department for congregational development in the Lutheran Church of Saxony.

Staffan Carlsson (Stockholm): Swedish Ambassador (ret.). He studied history and political science/international relations and joined the Swedish Foreign Service in 1975. He was Swedish Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany from 2010 to 2015.

Prof. Dr. Christian Fischer (Jena): Managing Director of the Abbe Institute for Foundations at the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena, holder of the Chair of Civil Law, Labor Law, Civil Procedure Law and Theory of Law at the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena, co-editor of the Zeitschrift für Stiftungs- und Vereinswesen (ZStV) (Journal for Foundations and Associations), many years of experience as a lawyer, labor law consultant, in company conciliation boards and as a mediator in collective bargaining, organizer of the German Mediation Days 2010-2014, extensive lecturing activities.

Katrin Göring-Eckardt (Berlin): politician in the Green party (officially known as Alliance '90 /The Greens), co-chair of her party caucus in the Bundestag (2002-2005), vice president of the Bundestag since October 2005, from 2009 to 2013 praeses of the synod of the Evangelical Church in Germany

Prof. Dr. Eberhard Harbsmeier (DK): Danish-German theologian. Until 2013 rector of the Pedagogical Institute of the Danish People's Church, the Pastoralkolleg i Løgumkloster and the Theological Pedagogical Center in Løgumkloster; honorary professor of practical theology, Aarhus University. From 2013 to 2017 advisor to the Ministry of the Church for the German-Danish activities for the Reformation anniversary.

Sebastian von Kloch-Kornitz (Weimar): Managing partner of both Terra Madre Consulting GmbH and Neues Kloster Ichtershausen (NKI) GmbH & Co. KG. Managing Director of the Christian Collegiate Foundation (SCC), former head of office of the Martin Luther Foundation, one of the initiators of the JugendUnternimmt ("Youth Undertakes") project, he is a graduate in administration.

O. Univ.-Prof. Dr. DDr. h.c. Ulrich Körtner (Wien): Protestant theologian and medical ethicist. Since 1992 full professor of systematic theology at the Faculty of Protestant Theology at the University of Vienna. Until his appointment to the University of Vienna, Körtner worked as a parish priest in Bielefeld (1986-1990) and as Director of Studies at the Evangelical Academy in Iserlohn (1990-1992).

Regional Bishop Friedrich Kramer (Magdeburg): Regional bishop of the Evangelical Church in Central Germany. Previously, he was director of the Saxony-Anhalt Protestant Academy and director of studies for theology and politics.

Dr. phil. Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller (Ditzingen): CEO of the TRUMPF Group, vice-chair of the board of trustees of the Berthold Leibinger Foundation

Johann Michael Möller (Halle/Saale): political scientist, historian, journalist; broadcasting-director of Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk (MDR radio)

Prof. Dr. theol. Dr. phil. Nils Ole Oermann (Berlin): Historian, theologian, lawyer, personal assistant to the Federal President Dr Horst Köhler from 2004 to 2007. Professor of sustainability ethics at Leuphana University, member of the Executive Board and Vice-President of the College, Director of the Research Department "Religion, Politics and Economics" at Humboldt University Berlin.

Reinhard Quast (Siegen): Chairman of the Executive Board of OTTO QUAST Bau AG and President of the Central Association of the German Construction Industry since 2018.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dagmar Schipanski (Erfurt): Physicist, politician (CDU - Christian Democrats), after 1990 Professor of Solid-State Electronics, 1995 - 1996 Rector of the Technical University of Ilmenau (Thuringia), 1999 candidate for the office of Federal President, 1999 - 2004 Thuringian Minister for Science, Research and the Arts, 2004 - 2009 President of the Thuringian State Parliament, since 2011 Rector of the Studienkolleg zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Herman J. Selderhuis (Apeldoorn, NL):

Professor of Church History and Church Law at the Theological University in Apeldoorn, Director of Refo500, President of the International Calvin Congress, President of RefoRC (Reformation Research Consortium) and Research Curator of the John a Lasco Library (Emden, Germany)

Prof. Dr. theol. Christopher Spehr (Jena): Professor and holds the chair for church history in the Theological Faculty of the University of Jena since the winter semester 2011/12

Dr. Markus Spieker (Leipzig): Author, journalist and historian with a doctorate. From 2014 to 2018, he was ARD's (German public-service broadcaster) correspondent for South Asia. Since his return to Germany, he has been working at MDR (Central German public-service broadcaster) in Leipzig.

Friedhelm Wachs (Berlin): International consultant for negotiation processes, author, owner and partner of Wachsonian GmbH, among others. Since 2020 Chairman of the Working Group of Protestant Entrepreneurs (“Arbeitskreis Evangelischer Unternehmer”, AEU).

Christiane Weispfenning (Frankfurt): Chairwoman of the Share Value Foundation and daughter of the foundation's founder Günter Weispfenning.